CSIR in the news..

An aggregation of news on the web about CSIR and its laboratories

Infosys prize conferred on six researchers from 5 science streams

10 January 2011

Six researchers from five science streams were honoured with the Infosys Prize-2011 by the former President, A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, here on Monday.

Eminent personalities, including Nobel laureate Amartya Sen, attended the function.

…….The prize winners are Kalyanmoy Deb, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology-Kanpur (engineering and computer science); Imran Siddiqi, scientist, Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology, Hyderabad (life sciences); Kannan Soundarajan, director, Mathematics Research Centre, Stanford University, U.S. (mathematical sciences); Sriram Ramaswamy, Professor, Centre for Condensed Matter Theory, Indian Institute of Sciences–Bangalore (physical sciences); Raghuram G. Rajan, Charles M. Harper Faculty Fellow at the University of Chicago’s Booth School of Business (social sciences-economics); and Pratap Bhanu Mehta, president and chief executive of the Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi (social sciences-political science and international relations)…….

Read more: http://www.thehindu.com/sci-tech/science/article2788596.ece


Written by csirindia

January 10, 2012 at 6:53 pm

Posted in CCMB

%d bloggers like this: